Guess who’s sleeping through the night!

I am feeling hesitant this morning.  A part of me thinks that as soon as I write this it will all start to go pear-shaped…but….at 2 months of age The Baby has slept through the night twice in the last week…From 8 pm to 6-6:30 am…and the other nights he’s only gotten up once to feed, usually around 3-4 am.

I can’t believe it.  Where did the multiple night feedings go?  What happened to the 1 am crying?  Who replaced the red-faced screaming devil with this beautiful sleeping angel?

You know who isn’t sleeping through the night?

Mommy.

I doze with one ear open waiting for the squeaking and squalling to begin.  Sometimes I lie awake worrying that he has stopped breathing or something equally so horrific.  He can’t be that quiet can he?

I wake up at 3 am everynight expecting a feeding session.

I wake up at 5 am with sore engorged breasts and wet sheets.

You know who’s taking credit for her son’s amazing sleeping abilities?

Mommy.

Maybe he is an easy baby, maybe this is just developmental.  Or maybe I took my newborn, who didn’t seem to have gotten the memo that newborns are supposed to sleep a lot, who used to just stare at the world with bugged-out massive eyes for hours at a time, and taught him to sleep.

Starting at 6 weeks, when I read Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child (by far the best baby care book I’ve read so far), I made an effort to teach he to sleep.

I soothed him to a drowsy state at nap and nighttimes using exactly the same sequence every time.  The same lullabies, the same hold for rocking and the same amount of time each time.

I soothed him for naps starting 1-1.5 hours after waking.

I stayed home so that he could get the naps I know he needs.

I organize errands around his nap schedule.

I spent whole evenings popping in and out of his room, soothing him, putting him down sleepy but not asleep until he learned to how to fall asleep on his own.

I learned to ignore sleepy noises, hiccups, and low-level fussing.

I never let him cry it out and maybe, because I started so early, I’ll never get the the point where I feel I need to let him CIO.

I hope not anyway, I’m not sure my heart could take it!

Leave a Reply

