Turns out I’m not immune…

…to the mumps that is.

I’m applying for hospital privileges right now and part of that is providing evidence of immunity to various diseases…measles, mumps, rubella, Hepatitis B, chicken pox etc etc.  Because my vaccination records are currently several time zones away and there is no “official” record of my infection with chicken pox (a photograph of my five-year old self standing naked on the toilet seat while my mom dabs me with calamine lotion is apparently not good enough), my general practitioner and I decided to send my blood for antibody testing.

And that’s how I found out that my vaccinations for mumps either didn’t take or have “run out.”

I’m a danger to self and others.

I’m off to get an MMR shot.

 

3 comments

  1. Better to find this out this way as opposed to coming down with an actual case of mumps…

    1. Or ending up with ovarian mumps and decreased fertlitly….

  2. I do not understand why we do not check all adults routinely for those things!

Leave a Reply

